Burlap…

Yes, I am writing a blog post about burlap.:)  It is so popular right now.  Pinterest is full of so many different types of projects using burlap.  Here are just a few that I have had my eye on…

Source: etsy.com via Jennifer on Pinterest

Source: etsy.com via Jennifer on Pinterest

 

A few weeks ago as I was looking at some craft blogs and I came across a room makeover with burlap curtains.  I loved them!  I had been looking for something new for my living room.  I wasn’t loving the white sheer curtains that I had put up a few months ago.  The burlap seemed to be a great fit for the style of my living room so I decided to give it a try.   Armed with my 40% off coupon I headed to Joann’s.   I bought the burlap and some trim and then the bag sat on my craft table for a week.:)  This past Saturday I finally sat down to make the curtain.   Other than burlap being a mess to work with when you cut it…this was the easiest window treatment I have ever made. Here is the finished product…

The only part that I actually decided to sew was the trim.  After I cut it I really liked the look of the raw edge so I left it that way.

I really love the way it turned out.  This was my test window and now I am going to make two more for the other windows in my living room.  Even Galen commented on how much he liked it.

I will probably have some burlap left…I think that table runner might be calling my name. :)

…jenn

 

2 thoughts on “Burlap…

  1. I did the top idea (pillow) with the girls.
    We modified it for some fancy Valentines Day cards though.

    I cut squares of burlap and gave the girls needles with embroidery thread, drew a heart with disappearing ink and they went to town.
    We glued the burlap pieces to the front of plain white cards….some of my favorite cards ever!

    LOVE me some burlap.
    I actually have a burlap table runner on my table right now! (it’s been there since Thanksgiving!)

  2. I love the way it looks on your windows! I have had some burlap roman shades bookmarked for 2 years. Burlap is fairly inexpensive, I should give it a try.

Leave a comment