Proverbs 16:9…

My theme verse for this past weekend…
“In his heart a man plans his course,

but the Lord determines his steps.”. Proverbs 16:9

On Friday Tucker and Mackenzie went to Houston with my parents. I got them packed up, picked up from school, and on their way to see their cousins. Later in the afternoon I took Jackson to pick up his friend Noah for a sleepover. They were so excited. We got home and we were making plans for dinner when they decided to go outside and ride bikes and scooters. Five minutes later, Jackson comes in with tears in his eyes holding his arm. Long story short…15 minutes later, the sleepover was canceled and we were on our way to the ER. Poor Jackson ended up with a broken arm…

20120207-220936.jpg
It was his ulna to be exact. The doctor did say that it was a “good” break. We head to the orthopedic doctor on Thursday for his cast. He is hoping for camouflage. :-)
Goodbye fun weekend with a friend…Hello low key weekend on the couch!
And then Sunday I was looking forward to a morning at church and then a fun time at our church’s Superbowl party…but instead I woke up feeling horrible and spent the entire day on the couch. The pajamas that I went to bed in on Saturday were the same pajamas that I went to bed in on Sunday. ;-).
Not the day that I had planned…not the weekend that I had planned but it was the weekend that the Lord had planned.
I’m a planner. I like to write things on my calendar and know what to expect. The unexpected is NOT my favorite. However, the Lord is working on me to let go of this false sense of control and to trust…really trust in Him.
He is determining and guiding my steps and however unexpected…I want to learn to follow.
Jackson is doing well. His pain is minimal and is adjusting to doing things with one hand. I am so thankful for the access that we have to good health care. I never want to take that for granted. And because of my day on the couch Sunday, I was thankful to get up Monday and get some things done. A house to clean, clothes to wash. I never want to take them for granted. ;-)
God is good. Thankful for his grace…
jenn ;-)

2 thoughts on “Proverbs 16:9…

  1. I am reading a lot in proverbs right now. So much wisdom. ;-)

    Glad you got some rest and glad Jack is not feeling a lot of pain. Love that kid. Jason and I were just talking about what a good boy he really is!

  2. So glad to see that Jackson is healing and that you are doing better. Love the reminder of HIS Word so full of wisdom!! I’m always learning and relearning…:) Love you all!

Leave a Reply

