10 Days of Pinterest~ Day 5…A Very Hungry Caterpillar Birthday

I have to say that Pinterest was one of the biggest sources of inspiration for Luke’s Very Hungry Caterpillar Birthday party.  There were SO many wonderful ideas and they all really got my creative juices flowing.

Well, today was the big day.  Luke was excited to have a few of his friends come over and help him celebrate.  My first pinterest project are these balloons that greeted our guests when they first walked in.

Here is the original pin…

 

And here is my version…


This was such a great idea!  An inexpensive way to make a big impact.  Total cost for this project was $2. :)

Our food table was full of all the fruit that the Hungry Caterpillar ate his way through…

Pinterest helped me find these cute (free) printables.  They were a really fun addition to the table…

The centerpiece of the table was my other Pinterest project for the day…the cupcake cake. :)

Here is the original pin…

And here is my version…

Now, I have to admit that I did not spend as much time on this as I wanted to.  I was running really behind this morning and didn’t get to pay as much attention to the little details as I like to…but overall I think it turned out pretty cute.  Luke liked it and it was such an inexpensive was to make a fun cake.

Here are the sweet kiddos enjoying their lunch…

One of the main reasons I loved the idea of this theme (besides the fun food ideas) was the great artwork you find in all of Eric Carle’s books.  Luke loves anything art related right now and so instead of games we did a couple of art activities.  First they played with play-dough…

Then the kids and I sat in a circle and I read The Very Hungry Caterpillar to them.  I think this was my favorite part of the party.  I loved seeing all those sweet eyes looking up at me…enjoying every part of the story…

After we finished reading the story it was time to paint! :)  I had the kids put on trash bag smocks and then they each painted a poster board with the caterpillar, butterfly, and sun from the story…

I did a little decorating outside too.  I hung the fruit that the caterpillar ate through in the tree. The wind kept blowing and so I couldn’t get a picture of all of them turned the right way but here are a couple of them…

Then it was time for cake and presents…

It was a fun morning with a sweet group of kiddos.  I am so thankful for friends to help us celebrate on days like today.

And thank you to Pinterest for all of the inspiration…:)

~jenn

5 thoughts on “10 Days of Pinterest~ Day 5…A Very Hungry Caterpillar Birthday

  1. This turned out so cute!!! Jenn, you know how to throw a party and it sure looks as though Luke thought it was a hit :-) Such fun to turn 3!! Much love to you all, Mom C.

  2. Amazing in typical Jenn fashion. It made me smile seeing all of the fun and creativity for the party. Only you=) could and would do it. FUN!! FUN!! Miss you, take care.

Leave a Reply

