Our 4th Annual Back to School Dinner…

For our 4th annual Back to School dinner we had a steak dinner with all the fixins.  Tucker and Luke opted for a hot dog instead of a steak…to each his own. :)  We also enjoyed sparkling grape juice or apple cider and An Apple for the Teacher cupcakes for dessert.  We chose Joshua 1:9 as our verse for this year…Be strong and courageous.  Do not be afraid or discouraged for the Lord is with you wherever you go.  We talked about different ways that we can be strong and courageous and how no matter what we face, just like the verse says, the Lord is always with us.  We also wrote out goals for this year and prayed for the kid’s teachers.

Overall it was a really good night…but not without a dose of reality of the the stage that we are in.  Partway through Galen talking to the kids about our verse for the year we had to send the three oldest up to their rooms for a “time out” because of their behavior.  They all went up the stairs bawling and Galen and I just looked at each other and laughed but really we felt like bawling too.  We eventually got everyone back around the table and were able to continue our meal.  I had really wanted to have each of them paint a canvas with our verse on it for their rooms but at that point I was just thankful to make it through the meal.  I am hoping to find a time to work on the canvases sometime soon.

I am so thankful for this time with my family even with the “dose of reality” because it is all a part of us growing together.  I hope that years from now my kids will remember these times and be thankful for the perfectly imperfect times that we spent together.  They  are what family is all about…

The LORD has done great things for us,  and we are filled with joy.

Psalm 126:3

~jenn

p.s.  It’s September 1st…a new month…time to turn over a new leaf and get back to blogging…that is my goal!

p.s. #2  I am still compiling my list of links and pictures from all of you that did Back to School dinners.  Once I have them all I am going to do a post.  If you have a blog and did one can you comment and remind me. Thank you. :)

2 thoughts on “Our 4th Annual Back to School Dinner…

  1. First off, thank you so much for posting this awesome tradition. I went ahead and pretty much copied your ideas (!), although we used our fish bowl with the beloved fish Gumby as our center piece instead of flowers (which was just about the most exciting part for the kids)! We did our dinner tonight with all the favorites: homemade southern style chicken and dumplings, fresh watermelon, and brownies with mint chocolate chip ice cream for dessert. I also went to the dollar store and bought tiny decorated Chinese takeout boxes and filled them with a few pieces of candy and a couple tiny toys and placed them at each persons setting. David took the kids out while I got everything decorated and cooked and they were so excited when they walked in the door to such an unexpected surprise! Oh, the joy of it all! We picked Proverbs 3:5-6 as our family verse for the year and have it hanging on the wall. Being crafty and decorating do NOT come naturally for me, so thanks again for the great ideas and pictures. I can’t wait to see what God will do this year and how our verse will be applied to each of us.

  2. Hey Jenn, loved your pictures. I did finally blog about our back to school dinner, although the pictures were…not so great. Love seeing your pictures, they are always so great. (Someday when I have time to really learn how to take pictures maybe they will improve.=)) Anyway, going to total borrow a few of your ideas for next year. I was laughing at the time out thing…sounds like life around here. Gotta laugh. Hope all is well. Miss you all.

Leave a Reply

