a few little projects…

Last week I finally finished a few projects that I had been wanting to tackle…

I found this black screen at a cute little shop about a month ago.  It was only $14 and I wasn’t exactly sure what I wanted to do with it but I knew I wanted it for my entry way.  I hung it up as soon as I got home and just lived with it there until I got some inspiration.

Galen told me later that he really didn’t like it but didn’t want to hurt my feelings.  ha ha :)  Well, I  finally got some inspiration and came up with this…

A $.97 cent stencil and some acrylic paint and I got a fun “art” piece for my entry way.  Oh…and Galen likes it now. :)

I had also been wanting to make a new curtain for my kitchen.  My old one was a cheap, red one that I bought quickly just to cover the window.  I never loved it and really wanted to change the color.  I found some great decorator fabric on the clearance table at Hancock and it sat on my sewing table for a month…but last week I finally got it done…


Love the new color and the rings that I found for 50% percent off at JoAnns. :)

Back in April I made throw pillows for Natalie for her birthday and was reminded just how easy they are to make and how they are such a great way to freshen up the look of your living room.  So….I decided to make a few new ones for my living room and to go bold this time…

The yellow chevron stripe is my favorite. :)  I love it for Summer and just changing the pillows has given me some new inspiration for a couple walls in my living room.  I think I’m going to make a few changes. ;)

My last project was my front door.  It was looking really bad…chipped and the color was just starting to look outdated.  So, with the help of my mom we gave it a fresh coat of  paint and a whole new look..

I love the black paint (wish I would have done it a long time ago!) and I love my mom’s idea to add the kick plate.  We also added a little hanging planter…

and a new door mat…

I love it and I really loved crossing some things off my “to-do” list.  My goal for this week??  To blog more than once.  We’ll see if it happens.

~jenn:)

3 thoughts on “a few little projects…

  1. I love that door!!!! You are so creative…. love seeing all the fun ideas you have and making your home so inviting! Well done!

  2. I love it, Jenn! I think the verse painted on the screen is perfect – and I’m sure Galen really loves it now. I’m already homesick for you guys – come visit soon!

Leave a Reply

