Happy Valentines Day…

Our Valentine’s celebration started on Sunday night when Galen and I got to go out to dinner just the two of us (thanks Mom and Dad!).  It was so nice to enjoy our dinner and have uninterrupted conversation.  While we were at dinner Galen asked me which one of our 14 Valentine’s Days together that I remembered the most?  I told him that I remembered our first but that honestly the rest of them kinda blurred together. ;)  So, then I asked him the same question and he said the one he remembers the most is the one when he forgot to buy me a card and I bawled all the way to the restaurant we were eating at.  He said he has NEVER forgotten a card since…ha ha ha. :)  We had a such a great time.  I am so thankful that my husband is my best friend.   Poor Galen wanted to go to a movie afterward but I was SO behind in my prep work for Tucker’s class valentine party that we went to Wal-Mart instead to pick up all of the supplies that I needed.  Galen is such a good sport and we still managed to have a good time…even at Wal-Mart. :)

Valentines Day morning started with a few little gifts for our four favorite Valentines…

Our tradition is that Galen buys a Valentine gift for Mackenzie and I buy Valentines for the boys. :)  They love it!  Mackenzie especially loves it.  She must have asked Galen 10 times this past weekend…”I’m your special Valentine…right Daddy??”

Lukie got a puzzle and the three big kids got $5 gift cards to Wal-Mart and another small treat.  They were all so excited…gift cards are a BIG deal around here. :)

Then Jackson surprised all of us with gifts that he had made.  He said that he learned how to write a haiku poem in school last week and so he wrote a poem for each one of us.  They are so sweet and something that I will always treasure.  This is the one that he wrote for me…

Mom

Helpful, Christian

Helping, Welcoming, Willing

Always on her feet

Blessing

and for his sister…

Mackenzie

Nice, Loveable

Helping, Encouraging, Playing

An encourager for all

Sister

They are so precious and such a treasure…

Jackson also made something for Galen to keep in his office.  It is the word Husker made out of legos…

Our morning started off on a very sweet note.  Jackson’s thoughtfulness blew me away. :)  Then the kids were off to school and I ran around like a crazy lady getting everything ready for Tucker’s party.  The party went well…

The kids made Valentines puppets, went on a Valentine Treasure Hunt (that was a BIG hit), and made ice cream sundaes.  Jackson and Mackenzie had fun at their parties too.  Even though I can’t be at their parties I at least try to stop in and say “hi”.  I got a quick picture of Mackenzie at her party…

Jackson was in the middle of a game when I stopped by his classroom so I did not get a picture of him.  They all had a great day and came home with a ridiculous amount of candy!!

We spent Valentines’s evening at a get together with some other small group leaders at our church.  It was such a fun, relaxing evening!  I asked our hostess if there was anything that I could bring, but she said that she had everything covered.  I felt so weird not bringing or organizing anything…but have to say…it was such a nice treat!  We just enjoyed good fellowship, delicious food, and the kids had a ball!  It was the perfect end to the day. :)

Valentine’s Day 2011…one that I will definitely remember. :)

…jenn

Leave a Reply

