Favorite Recipe Friday…Sunday Edition :)

Well…it only took two weeks for me to fall behind…ha ha.  Friday was a busy, busy day and when I finally sat down on the couch…I fell asleep.  So here is Favorite Recipe Friday on Sunday.:)

This week I have two recipes.  The first is an oldie but goodie soup recipe.  I got this from my sister in law who got it from her mother in law.  You always know it is good when it has been passed along through multiple people.:)

It is called Mexican Chicken Chowder and it is yummy and SO easy.  Now, if you only like to cook with fresh ingredients…nothing from a can…this is not the recipe for you. ;)

This is everything you need plus cilantro and shredded chicken.  You put it all in a pot…let it simmer…and…you get a bowl of really yummy soup.  I like to serve it with sour cream and tortilla strips.

Here is the recipe:

2 1/2 cups shredded cooked chicken

11oz can corn with sweet peppers

10oz can cream of potato soup

4oz can diced green chilies

cilantro (to taste)

1 pkg taco seasoning

1 can chicken broth

8oz sour cream

40z cheese spread with jalapeno peppers ( I can never find this so I substitute with the nacho cheese soup.)

Combine ingredients and simmer until hot. :)

The second recipe is one that I stumbled on this week on another blog.  It is for gourmet cupcakes that start with a cake mix. I really liked them because they were fast and easy like a cake mix but they have a little richer…more gourmet taste.  They were yummy!!:)

Tucker definitely approved…:)

Here is the recipe:

Gourmet Cupcakes

1 box cake mix-any flavor

1 small box of pudding mix

4 eggs

1 cup sour cream

1/2 cup water

1/2 cup oil

Choose a cake mix and a pudding mix with compatible flavors.  Mix everything together and bake as instructed-till toothpick comes out clean.  Cool on a wire rack then add frosting.

The one piece of advice I have is to bake for less time than what the box says.  The box said 20 min but I baked them for 18 min and maybe could have even done 15 min.

happy cooking…

jenn:)

One thought on “Favorite Recipe Friday…Sunday Edition :)

Leave a Reply

