Favorite Recipe Friday…

First, let me start by saying that we woke up to snow in South Texas.  I never thought I would say that.  So, the kids are home from school today and LOVING it. :)

My recipe for this week is actually a dessert.  Galen was out of town this week and so our dinners were pretty haphazard…nothing exciting at all.  But I didn’t want to flake on only the second week of Favorite Recipe Friday so I decided to whip up a dessert for Galen and I to enjoy last night after the kids went to bed. :)

It all started with these…

A bag of rolls that were getting stale which means they were perfect for bread pudding. :)  I found several different recipes but finally settled on one that I have used once before because it I already had all the ingredients it called for.

The recipe is called Father’s Bread Pudding and it is from this cute little Susan Branch cook book…

And like I said it called for everyday things that I always have on hand…

This bread pudding also has apples in it but they accidentally didn’t make it into the picture.  It all came together really quickly. This is what it looked like right before it went into the oven…

And this is what it looked like right out of the oven…

I topped it with some whipped cream…

…and we enjoyed it with a nice cup of coffee.  It was really yummy, but Galen and I both agreed that vanilla ice cream would be even better than the whipped cream.

There is no link to this recipe so here it is…

Father’s Bread Pudding

1 lrg loaf day-old french bread, cut into 3/4 inch cubes (about 12 cups)

3 eggs

2 cups milk

3 Tbsp vanilla extract

1 cup sugar

3/4 tsp cinnamon

3/4 tsp nutmeg

3 cups peeled, sliced tart apples

Topping

3/4 cup butter (cut in slices)

3 Tbsp cinnamon

2 tsp nutmeg

**Galen and I don’t love nutmeg so I left it out.

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.  Butter a 9 x 13 baking dish.  Put bread into a large colander and pour about 4 cups of hot water over bread evenly.  Allow to sit for 5 min and press out excess water…set aside.  In a large bowl, whisk together eggs, milk, vanilla, sugar, and spices.  Gently fold in bread and apples.  Pour into buttered dish.  Drop butter slices evenly over the top.  Mix together cinnamon and nutmeg…sprinkle over pudding.  Bake 1 hour and 20 min.  Serve warm with ice cream or whipped cream.

Now I am off to enjoy the snow before it melts…;)

jenn

2 thoughts on “Favorite Recipe Friday…

  1. This looks great, Jenn! I’ll have to make this for dessert some night. Nathan & I both love bread pudding. Thanks for sharing. Love you, Jenn

Leave a Reply

