Perfect Faithfulness…

I’m going to be honest…the last 3 days have been hard.  Since my desire this year is to be more vulnerable and honest in my blogging I have resisted the temptation to just post a cute picture of one of the kids…or tell a funny story.  Instead I have just chosen to wait.  Monday was a day that was filled with bad news…people I love and care for walking through dark times.  At one point I turned to Galen and said, “Wow…2011 is starting off with a bang.”

As I was praying and seeking the Lord I was clinging to the truth that “…the Spirit helps us in our weakness.  We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groans that words cannot express.” Romans 8:26

I really don’t like to play the whole “open my bible and wherever it opens…that is a sign from God” game, but I prayed and asked Him  that in His mercy He would guide me to passage that would speak hope to my heart.  I opened my Bible to Isaiah 25…

O Lord, you are my God;

I will exalt you and praise your name,

for in perfect faithfulness

you have done marvelous things,

things planned long ago.

He is perfectly faithful…my heart knows and believes that.  And sometimes the marvelous things that He has planned are in the form of trials and dark valleys so that we come to the end of ourselves and surrender to Him.

As I sit here typing this morning the circumstances are still the same, but I do have hope.  I just glanced up and read the title of my blog…Beauty instead of Ashes. I see it so often I forget the truth behind those words…that the God I serve can take something that is dead and ugly and give it life and beauty.

“…to bestow on them a crown of beauty instead of ashes,

the oil of gladness instead of mourning,

and a garment of praise

instead of a Spirit of despair.”

Isaiah 61:3

He is able, He is faithful, and I will exalt and praise Him for marvelous things planned long ago.

…jenn:)


5 thoughts on “Perfect Faithfulness…

  1. Amen. He is faithful.

    My friend always says, God is Good, all the time. All the time, God is Good.

    We don’t have to see it to know it. hugs.

  2. So glad we have a God that sees way more then we will ever see:) Love hearing your heart…and thanks for the reminder of those promises. Love you Sister!!

  3. He is so very faithful to each of us – and He hears our cries. So thankful for His listening ear and merciful heart, and I thank you for the reminder, sweet friend. I appreciate your honest words…so love you and your family.

  4. Jenn,
    I love the reminder that the Spirit intercedes on our behalf when we don’t have the words to pray. You’re right about coming to the end of yourself before surrendering to Him…that is exactly where I was almost 10 yrs ago before surrendering my life to Christ and realizing I was at the bottom of the pit and only He could rescue me. Sometimes we need to just remember there is nothing we can do but pray, which happens to be the most powerful, untapped tool we have against the enemy. I love the scripture in James that says the effective fervent prayer of a righteous man avails much. I am praying for a miracle!

Leave a Reply

