design on a dime…

I love decorating…wish I could do it for a living.  But since I don’t do it for a living I am constantly thinking about new ways to spruce up our home.  Unfortunately, my budget doesn’t always support the amount of “sprucing” I want to do. :)  However, one of my favorite things to do is to use what  I already have and re-purpose it.  The other thing I LOVE to do is go to garage sales and thrift stores.  I love finding cheap treasures!!  I feel like I hit the jackpot this weekend and I was able to add a couple new pieces to my living room for a bargain.

The first thing I found was this…

Galen has been dreaming about an ottoman for a while now and on Saturday his dream came true! ;)  My mom spied this beauty at a garage sale that we stopped at.  I cannot believe how perfectly it fits in our living room.  I love the color, the style, the fabric….and the price…$20!!

I also spent some time fixing up this lamp (that I almost sold at a garage sale…thanks Mom for saving me from that mistake!)…

This lamp is almost 10 years old…been through a few moves…it was scratched and looking pretty sad.  With a little bit of sanding, a can of black spray paint (that I already had), a lampshade that I found at goodwill for .99 cents and some fabric to fix up the lampshade…I now have this…

I got the idea for the lampshade from a crafty blog that I like to read.  The one that they showed had flowers that were the same color as the lampshade.  It was cute but I really wanted to use the flowers as a way to bring in some color.  I dug through my fabric stash, took out my trusty flower yo-yo maker and got to work.  I love the result and the entire lamp re-do cost .99 cents!  That fact alone makes it even cuter to me.  lol :)

I have a few more projects up my sleeve and this weekend I am going to give Mackenzie’s room a new look.  I can’t wait to show you the $15 vanity that I found at a garage sale that my mom re-finished for her.  It is beautiful!

This kind of stuff is like an adrenaline rush for me…ha ha. :)

…jenn

5 thoughts on “design on a dime…

  1. Oh! I miss having you in town for all your great ideas you had to spruce up our house… you have a gift!

Leave a Reply

