another one for the “never a dull moment” file…

At 2am on Saturday morning Galen woke me up and asked if I heard anyone crying.  I sat up and heard a faint moaning and so I got up to see what was wrong.  I realized that it was coming from the room next to us where Tucker and Jackson were sleeping.  When I walked in I saw Tucker laying on the floor.  I thought that he had just fallen off the bed and so I walked over and quickly picked him up and put him back in bed.  Well, it was at that moment that I realized that he had not JUST fallen out of bed.  As I picked him up, I saw blood on the carpet and when I looked at him I realized that there was blood all over him.  (I won’t go into all the gory details, but I will just say that when my Father in law came down he described it as looking like a crime scene.)

I immediately stared yelling for Galen.  I picked up Tucker and started walking towards our room.  I grabbed a towel and put it on his head because I could tell that the blood was coming from somewhere in that general vicinity.  When I got to Galen I put Tucker in his arms and I was trying to explain to him what was going on.  He said to me, “Jenn, you need to lift up the towel so that you can see exactly what we are dealing with.”  I immediately began to cry. :(  I told him, “I can’t do it…there is just too much blood.”

**Now, let me stop here and say that just a little over a year ago I was at Lauren’s house when Mia took a horrible fall down their stairs and cut her head.  There was quite a bit of blood and it was very traumatic, but I was calm as a cucumber.  This time…I was anything but cool…I was a mess!!!  I guess it is a whole different story when it is your own child.**

So Galen put Tucker back in my arms and he lifted the towel and saw the gash on Tucker’s forehead.  At that point we realized that he must have hit the corner of the nightstand when he fell out of bed.  Galen ran to get his Dad…he took a look at it too and told us that we would definitely be making a trip to the ER.  We threw on some decent clothing and shoes and we were out the door.

Thankfully we were the only people in the ER and so we were seen immediately.  They attempted to use a numbing cream instead of a shot, but when they put in the first stitch it was VERY evident that he was not numb!!  Three shots later we were ready to go again.  He ended up with six stitches and after it was all over he was happy as can be.  We went home, changed him into clean pajamas, laid him down, and he was asleep in less than 5 minutes.

When Galen and I finally went back to bed we laid there for I don’t know how long…completely traumatized. ;)  Oh and Jackson…who was sleeping right next to Tucker…NEVER woke up!!

Here is a picture of the patient…

He was off to school today…excited to tell all his buddies about his stitches.

On Friday…the stitches have to be taken out….REALLY not looking forward to that!

…jenn:)

5 thoughts on “another one for the “never a dull moment” file…

  1. It is traumatic to go through something like that – for us moms and dads that is – the kiddoes don’t sweat it. And there is nothing to taking those stitches out, he won’t feel a thing and it’ll be a piece of cake for you, too. Unfortunately, I’ve been there many times and taking out the stitches is nothing compared to what you have already been through. Glad to know he was in such good spirits after it all.

  2. ohmy. we were just talking at dinner tonight about one time when my daughter cut her head wide open and how much heads bleed. I’m so glad he’s ok. you earned a mommy stripe for sure. :)

Leave a Reply

