I Wonder…

You know, Lord, how I serve You

With great emotional fervor in the limelight.

You know how eagerly I speak for you at a Women’s Club.

You know my genuine enthusiasm at a Bible study.

But how would I react, I wonder,

If you pointed to a basin of water

And asked me to wash the calloused feet

Of a bent and wrinkled old woman

Day after day, month after month,

In a room where nobody saw and nobody knew?

Ruth Harms Calkin

Pondering this poem this morning and praying that this kind of genuine humility would take root in my own heart…

jenn:)

2 thoughts on “I Wonder…

  1. Wow, God must really want me to hear this. I just read it today in “Relationship Principles of Jesus.” I never heard this poem before, and I now have heard it TWICE in one day! How did you come across it?

    BTW, I finished Hunger Games for next Friday’s book club if you’d like to borrow it so you can come. It’s a great book!

Leave a Reply

