honestly…

when we first bought this house…I didn’t like it.  Maybe it was the “school bus yellow” walls in the living room or the fact that it was the “best” that we could find in two days…in our price range.  Maybe it was because I was leaving a house that I really loved (like REALLY loved) or because we were downsizing.  Honestly…I think it was a combination of all of those things plus some selfishness and sadness thrown into the mix.

But here we are…

in June it will be four years.  And little by little…

we have made it our own.  Memories have been made here…

we brought our fourth child home from the hospital to this house.

This house has become our home…

and I’m thankful…

but I always want to be mindful that HE is my true home…

and no earthly home could ever compare.

“…In my Father’s house are many rooms…

I am going there to prepare a place for you.”

John 14:2

jenn:)

9 thoughts on “honestly…

  1. Jen,
    Thank you so much for your encouraging words…they have touched my heart and soul this morning. This process of trying to move to TX has been a little taxing and all that you have described is just what I am feeling. Thanks for the reminder to keep Christ the center of my focus!

  2. I LOVE this post, and the glimpse into your home. I can tell it’s lovely–you had me at the pillows! And you are right that we can never be truly satisfied here…cause it isn’t our real home. But contentment…that is a goal you seem to have reached, and that makes God smile.

  3. Thanks for this post! You have a gift of making a house quite a home… it is fun to see a glimpse of it!! I do love that these earthly home are a blessing, but how much greater when we reach that Eternal HOME:)

  4. oh….how beautiful! You know what I miss…I miss being over at your home for a morning and coming home and feeling so inspired to add beauty to my home. So…maybe you could just keep posting some photos now and then because right at this moment, I am dreaming of what kinds of fabrics I could use to cover old throw pillows :)

  5. Jenn, I just LOVE your house! And it really does feel like a “home”. You have an amazing knack for decorating (I need to take you shopping with me sometime), but even more than that you can feel God’s presence and the love that your family has. You inspire me!

  6. I LOVE the little details you put into your house, the fabrics you choose, and the photos on the walls (I recognize a few of those). Maybe sometime you could come over and help me figure out how to make my house cute and homey.

Leave a Reply

