Tatoo Barbie…

Okay…so never in my wildest dreams did I ever think that those words would go together…but apparently now they do. Unbelievable! Let me stop here and say this…I am not against tatoos. Adults are welcome to decide whether or not they would like a tatoo. I have absolutely no problem with that. Here is my problem…tatoo barbie is being marketed to little girls, girls like my little girl who is five. She is five years old, and as far as I’m concerned has no need to know about or desire a tatoo.

This really is just the straw that broke the camels back for me. I started feeling this way about little girls toys about a year ago. This past Christmas we got Mackenzie the Barbie Cruise ship. I thought it would be fun for her to have a barbie to go with it. Do you think I could find one with a decent bathing suit on?? It was impossible!

All we have to do is walk in to Wal-mart and she is bombarded by images of “rock stars” that she should want to be like and shows that deal with “high school issues”. She’s five…when she is in High School that is when I would like to talk about “high school issues” with her. Believe it or not, before her 5th birthday last fall she asked me if it was okay for her to like the Disney Princesses after she turned five? What??
I just want her to enjoy being a little girl…period…
I will get off my soapbox now…thank you.   I just really needed to get this off my chest!
…jenn:)

P.S. I would love to hear your thoughts on this.:)

7 thoughts on “Tatoo Barbie…

  1. I SO agree with you on this! It’s hard enough being a little girl growing up let alone with all the “sexy” images and skinny, pretty dolls like Barbies, geared toward these 4-12 year olds. It’s no wonder we all feel less than perfect when we are bigger than a size 4. Faith has a few Princess Barbies and lately I have been questioning if she should even have those, especially with a young boy growing up in the same house. I see them laying around naked cuz once they undress them, they don’t know how to get them dressed again and there is a naked barbie with breasts laying on the floor for Braden to see. I’m not so comfortable with that!

    Ok, I’ll get off the box, too, but couldn’t help but to put in my 2 cents! :)

  2. bill and i were just talking about this because tessa got a barbie dress-up set for her birthday. it came with barbie hair for her to wear. and then were skinny barbie people in the pictures. so far, tessa doesn’t seem to notice the difference between herself in the wig and the barbie doll. is it making too big a deal of it?

    and i’ve been trying to ignore the naked barbies laying around tate. i try to tell the girls to keep them dressed. tate likes polly pockets and barbies a lot. too much?

  3. I totally agree with you. I have been saying this for years. I am so thankful that Abby does not like Barbies and at the age of 9 still likes to wrap her stuffed animals in blankets and feed them. It seems like she is the only one of her friends who still does this. The dolls that really get to me are the Bratz dolls. When we see the Barbies, Bratz, etc…with skimpy clothing we use vocabulary like “trashy” , “ugly”, “not classy” and so far it has stuck

  4. hmmm…Isabella and Maddie aren’t too interested in Barbies and I hope it stays that way. Isabella loves the American Girl doll she has which was worth every penny, I just don’t like their slogan about following your inner star…I think it promotes a self absorbed girl. But at least their dress attire is appropriate.

    Yes, our little girls are bombarded with images of who they should want to be like and it’s a difficult battle, but I think it can be a great teachable moment in pleasing Jesus in all things and being modest. (1 Timothy 2:9) –one of my favorite verses because it has ministered to me a great deal. I know that might be hard for little girls to grasp, but Isabella seems to understand it so far and is the one to point out to me when she sees a pic of a girl in a cropped top that her clothing is inappropriate. That is an answer to prayer for us because we want her to recognize and understand it on her own rather than just repeat what we tell her.

    Anyways, all that to say that we just need to be on top of things and not give labels to those kinds of girls, but rather tell our daughters to pray for them and to be an example of Jesus in the things we say, do and wear.

    xoxo-M.

  5. I agree with you. Now my hubby says I’m a little over the top in the ‘protecting my kids’ category. But COME ON—I don’t care if collectors snap up Barbies, my 2 year old doesn’t need a tatoo barbie!

    One thing to consider is how many little girls have moms with a tatoo. That is not the case in our home so maybe it’s more of an issue to me than to a mom who already has a tatoo somewhere on her person.

    However, even if moms all across the land have tattoos—I find marketing this to small girls to be inappropriate!

Leave a Reply

