avocado green carpet and long hallways…

…My Grandma, Great Aunt, and Auntie are here visiting from California.  What a blessing it has been to spend time with them.  Having them here has brought back lots of memories from my childhood in California…

…As a child I loved spending time with my grandma and grandpa.  I loved going to their house, and I really loved my grandma’s room.  All I have to do is close my eyes and I can clearly see myself walking down the long, avocado green, carpeted hallway that led to my grandma’s room.  There was one thing in particular that I loved to look at in her room.  It was this…

_mg_0025

and the best part was when you opened it, she was always there…

_mg_0029

dancing to Edelweiss.  I loved this Jewelry box and I loved the time my grandparents spent with me.  There were many times when it was just me and them…fulfilling my childhood dream of being an only child (I’m kidding here, but not entirely.  I truly remember thinking that being an only child would be a lot more fun than having three brothers.  However, for the record, I love my brothers, and I am thankful that I was not an only child.  I will be sure to pass this information on to Mackenzie just in case her own three brothers cause her to have the same childhood dream.:)  There were grocery trips, picking strawberries from my grandpa’s garden, buying my first pair of hightops:), and getting to order ribs when we went out to eat.  I LOVED ribs…and even though they weren’t on the kids menu, they let me order them.  Great memories…really great memories.

About a year and a half ago my grandma gave me the jewelry box.  It now sits on my dresser and guess who loves to come in to my room to see the ballerina dance?

_mg_0003

I will often times find the jewelry box moved from it’s place on my dresser to my bed and I know she’s been in there enjoying it just as much as I did.  I’ve had to fight the urge to tell her to leave it where it belongs.  Instead I want to tell her about all the great memories I have when I look at this simple little box.  I want her and I to create new memories  and maybe one day I can pass it on to her and she can share it with her daughter…

Oh… by the way…we went out to dinner the other night and guess what Mackenzie wanted to order…ribs.:)

…jenn

One thought on “avocado green carpet and long hallways…

  1. Sweet memories of childhood – thanks for sharing this, Jenn. It adds more background to the amazing person you are today. And it’s also a reminder to me to look for the moments that I can share with my girls…you never know what they will remember, avacado green carpet and all.

Leave a Reply

