as I watch all that is going on in the world around me…

…these words were a profound reminder of truth:

“My own experience is something like this.

I am progressing along the path of this life

in my ordinary contentedly fallen and godless condition,

absorbed in a merry meeting with my friends…

or a bit of work that tickles my vanity…when suddenly a

headline in the newspapers that threatens us all

with destruction, sends this whole pack of cards

tumbling down.  At first I am overwhelmed, and all

of my little happinesses look like broken toys.

Then, slowly and reluctantly…I try to bring myself

to the frame of mind that I should be in at all times.

I remind myself that all these toys were never

intended to possess my heart,

that…my only real treasure is Christ.”

from The Problem of Pain by CS Lewis

…jenn

One thought on “as I watch all that is going on in the world around me…

  1. Hey Jen,

    So cool that you will be doing the same study! My mom is also going to be reading, studying… Esther. I loved the first lesson! I’m keeping my “sisters” in prayer who are also doing the same study and will add you to the list. Keep me in yours!

    Thanks for the C.S. Lewis qote- very applicable and a wonderful reminder. God has used this move to remind me of my “toys” and what is truly important, especially with us being so close to D.C.

    And… the beach pics are gorgeous! I’m so jealous -haha… I can’t wait to see Virginia beach. I’m just not sure how I’ll handle the freezing water!

    Love looking at your blog! Keep it up!
    ~blessings~ liz

Leave a Reply

