a decade…

…on the 28th of last month Galen and I celebrated 10 years of marriage.  I don’t know why, but last night it just hit me.  10 years…in some ways I can’t believe 10 years has come and gone so quickly, but there have definitely been times, refining, growing, painful times, when it seemed like our life together was crawling along.  When I look at a picture of us on our wedding day I honestly do not recognize the people looking back at me…and it is not just the fact that Galen had a full head of hair and now he has “bawd hair” as Tuckie likes to say.  Or that my hair looks like we got married in 1985 when we really got married in 1998.  It is not even because our self proclaimed “spiritual gift” of “going out to eat” has rounded our corners a bit.  No, it is because the people that we are today are so different than the people we were then.

10 years ago we were husband and wife…today we are husband and wife and daddy and mommy.

10 years ago we were renting a tiny one bedroom apartment in So California…today we are calling our third state and third house home.

10 years ago Galen was a student and part time youth pastor; I was a full time teacher…today Galen is in the business world and I am a full time mom.

10 years ago we were full of so many dreams…today we look back painfully on the reality of having to lay a few of those dreams to rest and at the same time we stand in awe of how the Lord has given us more than we could ask or imagine.

10 years ago we were only 23 and 21…today I find myself saying, “Mackenzie is never getting married at 21!”

10 years ago I knew that I could never love anyone as much a I loved Galen…today I know that to be only partially true…there will never be anyone I love as much as Galen, but the depth of love I felt for him that day was only a fraction of what I feel today.  I cannot imagine what it will be like in 10 more years.   

10 years ago we were just beginning our journey, just the two of us, hand in hand…today we have added 3 little travelers and are about to add a fourth.

10 years ago we were full of big dreams, separate dreams…today we realize that it is wonderful to dream separately, but there is nothing better than sharing the same dream.  Our dream is to live every day surrendered to our savior and to humble ourselves in service to HIM.  Our dream is to live each day thankful for that day and to not “borrow trouble” from tomorrow.  Our dream is to lead our children towards the greatest relationship they could ever have…a relationship with Jesus.  Our dream is to finish this journey hand in hand, but our reality is that if death does separate us we will one day spend eternity together.

Looking forward to new reflections when we celebrate 20 years…

jenn

8 thoughts on “a decade…

  1. Congratulations on 10 years! What a wonderful tribute to your marriage and your relationship. You are both great as individuals but together you are fabulous. I’m celebrating with you the fact that you found each other, you are committed to each other even during the hard times, and that you both know that God holds your future in the palm of His hand. In a time where people so casually throw their marriages away it is so good to see you affirming yours and treating it like the gift it really is! It has done my heart good this morning. Love you guys!!!

  2. Happy late Anniversary! I can’t believe it’s been 10 years! I would be saying the same thing about Isabella and Maddie getting married at 21-no way! We just love you and Galen and the kiddos so much and are blessed to call you family. Have a great week! :)

  3. Congratulations!! Cory and I will also be celebrating our 10th anniversary this year (in June).
    How fun to look back over the years and see all that God has brought you through and taught you.

  4. I still have tears in my eyes….I loved what you wrote. So fun to be a part of that day ten years ago and to see where you are today. Thanks for bringing back the visual of your wedding day hair….you were gorgeous! :)Happy Anniversary!

  5. Thanking God for your marriage and your joy in it! Also thankful for the reminder to leave tomorrow’s troubles alone – no need to “borrow” them for today.

  6. very cool – I can’t wait to say I’ve been married 30, 40 or 50 years!
    that will be the day!
    10 is awesome too – not many make it that far these days so YOU GO GIRL!!!! (and guy too – takes both ;-)

Leave a Reply

