Thou dost know…

…I’m reading Calm my Anxious Heart by Linda Dillow right now and was struck by this story…

“I need oil,” said an ancient monk, so he planted

an olive sapling.  “Lord,” he prayed, “it needs rain that

its tender roots may drink and swell.  Send gentle showers.”

And the Lord sent gentle showers.  “Lord,” prayed the monk, 

“my tree needs sun.  Send sun, I pray thee.”  And the sun shone,

gilding the dripping clouds.  “Now frost, my Lord, to brace its 

tissues,” cried the monk.  And behold, the little tree stood 

sparkling with frost, but at evening died.

Then the monk sought the cell of a brother monk, and told

his strange experience.  “I, too, planted a little tree,” he said, “and see 

it thrives well.  But I entrust my tree to its God.  He who made it knows

better what it needs than a man like me.  I laid no condition

I fixed not ways or means.  ‘Lord, send what it needs,’  I prayed, ‘storm or 

sunshine, wind, rain, or frost.  Thou has made it and 

Thou dost know.”

Lord, you have made me, and Galen and Jackson, and Mackenzie, and Tucker and Thou dost know.

jenn

2 thoughts on “Thou dost know…

  1. Yes, He knows. A few years back, I found myself with that deep need to know that He knows. A Kathy Trocolli song meant so much to me at that time: “My life is your hands, and though I may not see clearly, I will lift my voice and sing, your love does amazing things. Lord, I know, my life is in your hands…” His love does amazing things and all that comes is through His love.

    Thinking of you today!

Leave a Reply

